A Film About Asians in Detroit?

I can count the number of movies I have seen in the theater in the past five years on my two hands.  I have not made much time for movies since having my daughter.  Please forgive me if this is really old news for the rest of you.

Jeff ordered the movie Gran Torino from Netflix and we viewed it this weekend.  The acting stinks, save for Clint Eastwood who plays a racist, irreverent, Korean war veteran/former Ford plant worker/widower/Detroiter.

APF20090127_366_GranTorino.jpg (453×302)

The movie is a touching story about Clint’s character (Walt Kowalski) who remains in his home in Detroit, despite the fact that the neighborhood has transitioned into a Hmong community, a people group whose name he cannot even properly pronounce.  Okay, so maybe touching is not the right word.  It’s touching and horrifying at the same time.

When I used to be a part of leading the Detroit Urban Plunge trips with InterVarsity for spring break, we heard about this Hmong population in Detroit during a history presentation, but I had never actually experienced it for myself.  In fact, the first Hmong people I met were from Wisconsin.  Nonetheless, there is a notable population of Hmong people in the Detroit area.

The movie was really filmed in Detroit over the course of 33 days.  You will see some real scenes from Detroit and will probably learn some things about the Hmong people from the story.  It’s worth a watch, but be prepared for the racism and dirty language of a cranky old man.

About blogDetroit

I was born in 1980 to two native Detroiters. We lived on the west side on a street called Braile before we moved a few miles west to the suburbs and pursued the standard American dream. Though we lived as suburbanites, my family was rare as Metro Detroit suburbanites go. Going to Detroit was considered the most interesting and most exciting family activity. My family never abandoned a love for this city with a bad rap, and as unconventional as it may seem, my life goal is to return to Detroit, live there, and make a difference.
This entry was posted in Auto Industry, Cars, Detroit, Media Depictions of Detroit, Race and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Film About Asians in Detroit?

  1. grace says:

    mmm… i’ll rent this soon

  2. jopanese says:

    this is a great movie. a bunch of CCFers were involved with project lighthouse, a detroit mentorship program that worked with hmong high school students. actually, one of ben low’s students is in the video!

Leave a comment